turn it up

I lifted this meme from here.

Tuesday Tunes is back for the new year. You know the drill. I’ll post 10 words and you tell me the first song/album/band etc that comes to mind.

Cruel: Bananarama Between the girls from this band, Joan Jett, and the girls from The Go-Go’s, I don’t know how I ever turned out to like boys. I had me some serious girl crushes as a child.
Drunk: Neil Diamond. Two A.M. A bar full of douchebags with their hands in the air. “So (not) good. So (not) good. So (not) good.” Neil Diamond on his own is awesome. Frat boys singing Neil Diamond, not awesome.
Scared: Marilyn Manson. Remember when he was scary? Now he is practically licensed by Disney. Not really. But that stuff is totally vanilla now. The kids at the church around the corner from me opted to do an interpretive rendition of Portrait of an American Family rather than the usual production of the regular old Christmas Pageant last month. It was cute.
Cover: It’s a tie between Tijuana Brass and the Stones. I would pull these albums out of my parent’s collection and stare at the pretty ladies all day long, promising that when I grew up I’d be sure to get a picture of me dressed in whipped cream and own a hat like that.
Color: Me Badd. Ohgod. I’m so embarrassed. Don’t ever tell anyone I know who that is.
One: U2. Most overrated band in the history of the world. I respect the band, I like some of their old stuff, and I like that Bono is out to save the world, but I don’t get it.
Young: David Bowie, for Young American, the best song ever about teenagers who don’t use birth control but do use drugs. At least that’s what I get from it. I love David Bowie. If you do too, you’ll know that a lot of my blog post titles are DB lyrics.
Punk: The Who and The Kinks are the end-all/be-all of true innovative punk rock invention.
Age:, New. Tesh, John. puke, I’ll
Believe: Kenny Rogers. But I always think of cat food since he sold that song for the jingle back in the eighties. “Cause she believes in me…. Purina Cat Chow”.

your turn

