newsworthy

I boycott the media from time to time, whenever current events seem a little much for me. I focus on something that I can do locally and it makes me feel a little bit better about the state of things. Isn’t that obnoxious? That I’m so overwhelmed with OPP that I have to stop listening to the boxes and do something good to make ME feel better?

Did I ever tell you that I don’t believe in pure altruism? I am a firm believer in good deeds and compassion, however, so it all makes up for itself in the end. Things get done and turn out a little better than they were at the beginning of the day.

I am doing my reading for my work-class this afternoon, and I ran across something that Mr. Rogers’ mom told him when he was little and afraid of what he saw on the news. “Look for the helpers.”, she told him, “You will always find people who are helping”.

I’m gonna go ahead and bet Mrs. Rogers was a pretty good mom.

